Yesterday I was cleaning my browsers, getting rid of bookmarks and extensions, changing preferences, passwords, etc… After I finished with Chrome Dev, I proceed to do it with Canary. Since it’s my second browser and the one my family use, I deleted all, including all bookmarks… but I forgot to stop the syncing… when I move to Chrome Dev, which was open at the same time, all my bookmarks were gone… my world fell apart.
Instantly I look in my Google Account, nothing. Google Docs, nothing. I was about to cry when I found this. It saved my life.
NOTE: THIS ONLY WORK IF YOU HAVEN’T CLOSE CHROME YET. IF YOU RELAUNCH, THERE’S NOTHING YOU CAN DO.
Go to the Chrome folder:
Here is where all of our profile is about. Many files and folders, but we just want to files: Bookmarks and Bookmarks.bak
Of course, if you deleted all your bookmarks, there is no Bookmarks file, only Bookmarks.bak. Copy this .bak file to your desktop. And then remove the .bak extension within the Chrome folder.
Now, move the .bak file from your desktop to a safe place and restart Chrome. You’ll see how the .bak file is back when you restart.
Now all your bookmarks are back. And this won’t affect Chrome Sync at all, trust me.
Let me explain how it works. Every time you start Chrome, this .bak file is created as a backup for your bookmarks, when you shut down Chrome, the file gets overwritten with the new changes. Good as dangerous.
Again, only work if you haven’t close Chrome yet, if you did, better start remembering the links.